Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

kwin on xfce

For issues with MX that has been modified from the initial install. Example: adding packages that then cause issues.
User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

kwin on xfce

#1

Post by arjaybe » Mon Dec 24, 2018 6:37 pm

I've got kwin working on MX-18 and now I want to know how to populate KDE System Settings without installing KDE. As it is, I can't manage desktop effects or window theming, etc since those functions are missing in the sparsely populated System Settings. Does anyone know if I can install individual packages to populate it?
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
Moltke
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:07 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#2

Post by Moltke » Tue Dec 25, 2018 11:17 am

I've got kwin working on MX-18
Is it everything working fine for you? I tried kwin few months ago and it didn't go that well; some apps like clementine and guvcview didn't work at all. I haven't removed it yet and is still around in my system but disabled.
Without each other's help there ain't no hope for us :happy:

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#3

Post by arjaybe » Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:17 pm

Moltke wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 11:17 am
I've got kwin working on MX-18
Is it everything working fine for you? I tried kwin few months ago and it didn't go that well; some apps like clementine and guvcview didn't work at all. I haven't removed it yet and is still around in my system but disabled.
I thought it was working, other than what I mentioned in the first post, but now it fails in some way every time I boot. For example, kwin won't actually start, and Alt-F2 to run kwin --replace won't work because there's no keyboard. I've replaced xfwm4 with kwin in the xfce config file, AND put kwin --replace in Autostart, but it still won't reliably start. (MX-Clocky also won't start even though it's in Autostart and I've saved the session with it open. I wonder if it's related.) Also, I ran Compiz for a while to get the black square out from behind Clocky, but disabled it to make way for kwin. I wonder if that's related.

Anyway, it looks as if I have more problems than I thought I had.-)
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19464
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#4

Post by richb » Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:43 pm

I think it was back in MX 16 I installed Kwin and got it working with desktop effects and reliably. But I do not recall what in addition I had to add. These days I just install KDE Standard from MXPI and do not have to spend time finding what I missed. I never use KDE and in my normal XFCE it has little affect. The reason for me is dolphin. It is fully functional in XFCE with yje extra KDE stuff installed.
I use compiz for its effects that in my opinion has more available than Kwin.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#5

Post by arjaybe » Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:03 pm

richb wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:43 pm
I think it was back in MX 16 I installed Kwin and got it working with desktop effects and reliably. But I do not recall what in addition I had to add. These days I just install KDE Standard from MXPI and do not have to spend time finding what I missed. I never use KDE and in my normal XFCE it has little affect. The reason for me is dolphin. It is fully functional in XFCE with yje extra KDE stuff installed.
I use compiz for its effects that in my opinion has more available than Kwin.
How do you install KDE without it taking over the desktop? I'd rather have the xfce desktop than plasma, but I want kwin so I can get windows to open where I want them.
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19464
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#6

Post by richb » Tue Dec 25, 2018 6:16 pm

arjaybe wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:03 pm
richb wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:43 pm
I think it was back in MX 16 I installed Kwin and got it working with desktop effects and reliably. But I do not recall what in addition I had to add. These days I just install KDE Standard from MXPI and do not have to spend time finding what I missed. I never use KDE and in my normal XFCE it has little affect. The reason for me is dolphin. It is fully functional in XFCE with yje extra KDE stuff installed.
I use compiz for its effects that in my opinion has more available than Kwin.
How do you install KDE without it taking over the desktop? I'd rather have the xfce desktop than plasma, but I want kwin so I can get windows to open where I want them.
It does not take over the desktop. At the login screen you can choose which DE to log into. If you log into XFCE you get XfCE unadulterated, if KDE you get KDE.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Moltke
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:07 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#7

Post by Moltke » Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:05 pm

arjaybe wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:17 pm
Moltke wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 11:17 am
I've got kwin working on MX-18
Is it everything working fine for you? I tried kwin few months ago and it didn't go that well; some apps like clementine and guvcview didn't work at all. I haven't removed it yet and is still around in my system but disabled.
I thought it was working, other than what I mentioned in the first post, but now it fails in some way every time I boot. For example, kwin won't actually start, and Alt-F2 to run kwin --replace won't work because there's no keyboard. I've replaced xfwm4 with kwin in the xfce config file, AND put kwin --replace in Autostart, but it still won't reliably start. (MX-Clocky also won't start even though it's in Autostart and I've saved the session with it open. I wonder if it's related.) Also, I ran Compiz for a while to get the black square out from behind Clocky, but disabled it to make way for kwin. I wonder if that's related.

Anyway, it looks as if I have more problems than I thought I had.-)
It looks like a lot of work must be done in order to - possibly, maybe - get kwin working properly...nah I pass lol I'd completly forgotten compiz even existed lol just installed and been playing around with it and so far everything's working just fine. By the way, after reading your post now I've completely removed kwin from my system.
Without each other's help there ain't no hope for us :happy:

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#8

Post by arjaybe » Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:11 pm

richb wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 6:16 pm
arjaybe wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:03 pm
richb wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:43 pm
I think it was back in MX 16 I installed Kwin and got it working with desktop effects and reliably. But I do not recall what in addition I had to add. These days I just install KDE Standard from MXPI and do not have to spend time finding what I missed. I never use KDE and in my normal XFCE it has little affect. The reason for me is dolphin. It is fully functional in XFCE with yje extra KDE stuff installed.
I use compiz for its effects that in my opinion has more available than Kwin.
How do you install KDE without it taking over the desktop? I'd rather have the xfce desktop than plasma, but I want kwin so I can get windows to open where I want them.
It does not take over the desktop. At the login screen you can choose which DE to log into. If you log into XFCE you get XfCE unadulterated, if KDE you get KDE.
And it's possible to select xfce and use kwin?
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19464
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#9

Post by richb » Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:41 pm

arjaybe wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:11 pm
richb wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 6:16 pm
arjaybe wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:03 pm


How do you install KDE without it taking over the desktop? I'd rather have the xfce desktop than plasma, but I want kwin so I can get windows to open where I want them.
It does not take over the desktop. At the login screen you can choose which DE to log into. If you log into XFCE you get XfCE unadulterated, if KDE you get KDE.
And it's possible to select xfce and use kwin?
Yes, but as I said other packages need to be installed.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: kwin on xfce

#10

Post by arjaybe » Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:30 am

richb wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:41 pm
arjaybe wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:11 pm
richb wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 6:16 pm

It does not take over the desktop. At the login screen you can choose which DE to log into. If you log into XFCE you get XfCE unadulterated, if KDE you get KDE.
And it's possible to select xfce and use kwin?
Yes, but as I said other packages need to be installed.
Okay, I'll try installing KDE Standard and then selecting xfce at the login prompt.
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

Post Reply

Return to “MX Modified”