News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[Solved] intel/lenovo Drivers

Help for Current Versions of MX
LAUS311
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

[Solved] intel/lenovo Drivers

Post by LAUS311 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:51 am

Hi there, I have recently installed Linux MX. Im new in linux so I'm so lost here.

Does anyone can explain me how to install intell and lenovo Drivers.

Thanks.
Last edited by LAUS311 on Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

phykris
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Re: intel/lenovo Drivers

Post by phykris » Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:35 pm

Most drivers are by default built in in linux. Unless there's something not working (like your nvidia video card) you don't need to install any driver.

Head_on_a_Stick
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Post by Head_on_a_Stick » Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:46 pm

Check the device drivers with

Code: Select all

lspci -k
"Direct action is the logical, consistent method of anarchism." — Emma Goldman

Stevo
Developer

Post by Stevo » Fri Apr 26, 2019 4:06 pm

Depending on your Intel hardware, the system will automatically use either the kernel's "modesetting" video driver or the "intel" DDX video driver. Unless you are trying to fix some sort of video glitch*, stick with the default. There are no outside Intel drivers that you download and install as you do on the Windows side, since the drivers are open-sourced by Intel and included with MX.

*Newer Intel hardware gets video glitches in full-screen Youtube video and in Firefox scrolling with the default modesetting driver. That can be fixed by switching to the "intel" driver using MX Tweak.