Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[Solved] Prompt at the back.

Help for Current Versions of MX
User avatar
chrispop99
Global Moderator
Posts: 3108
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Prompt at the back.

#11

Post by chrispop99 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:14 pm

I dislike it too; any chance it might be changed in the future?

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Administrator
Posts: 25800
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Prompt at the back.

#12

Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:20 pm

Dunno. Post it in the brainstorming thread and let's see...
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Administrator
Posts: 25800
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Prompt at the back.

#13

Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:41 pm

I can get the desired result in Xfce4 Terminal (but not in the pull-down one) by changing line 78 (Options > enable Line numbers):

Code: Select all

    PS1="$PURPLE\u$nc@$CYAN\H$nc:$GREEN\w$nc\\n$GREEN\$$nc "
with this:

Code: Select all

    PS1="$PURPLE\u$nc@$CYAN\H$nc:$GREEN\$$nc "
The only problem is that I don't know what else happens when that segment is removed. Other people here do...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
fehlix
Developer
Posts: 4922
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Prompt at the back.

#14

Post by fehlix » Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:55 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:41 pm
I can get the desired result
I guess there is a reason for having $PWD shown within the prompt. Taking out the current directory from the PS1-prompt, the user never knows wich directory he is running a command. So don't feel that this would be a good default.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
kmathern
Developer
Posts: 9715
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Prompt at the back.

#15

Post by kmathern » Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:25 pm

How about

Code: Select all

PS1="$PURPLE\u$nc@$CYAN\H$nc:$GREEN\w>$nc "
prompt4.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19464
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Prompt at the back.

#16

Post by richb » Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:34 pm

I like the directory on a separate line. This is all a matter of taste so whatever the consensus is fine by me.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Jerry3904
Administrator
Posts: 25800
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Prompt at the back.

#17

Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:41 pm

Whatever we do, we will now put together a Wiki entry so users will have choices.

BTW: this has been interesting for me since I knew nothing about it.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
fehlix
Developer
Posts: 4922
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Prompt at the back.

#18

Post by fehlix » Sat Aug 10, 2019 6:00 pm

kmathern wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:25 pm
How about

Code: Select all

PS1="$PURPLE\u$nc@$CYAN\H$nc:$GREEN\w>$nc "
With lots of dir's navigating into with looong folder names a two-line PS1 might not make the actual prompt line so long.
Here what we have in mx-goodies - fancy-prompt's:
mx-goodies-prompts-600.png
:puppy:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
malspa
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 2037
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:21 am

Re: Prompt at the back.

#19

Post by malspa » Sat Aug 10, 2019 6:24 pm

richb wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:34 pm
This is all a matter of taste so whatever the consensus is fine by me.
Yeah, and the default might not matter so much. Any Linux installation I do, one of the first things I do post-install is drop a line in .bashrc for the prompt. Lol, it wasn't something I knew how to do when I was a newbie, of course! And I don't think I cared about that sort of thing back then.

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Developer
Posts: 12576
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: Prompt at the back.

#20

Post by dolphin_oracle » Sat Aug 10, 2019 6:32 pm

I suggest everyone interested in modifying their prompts check out the application development thread by nite Coder. His bashrc editor could use some testing and comments for future dev.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-18.3
lenovo s21e - antiX-19 beta 2 (live-USB)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”