Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

SOLVED Computer Freezing/Locking UP

Help for Current Versions of MX
Post Reply
CaptED71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:21 pm

SOLVED Computer Freezing/Locking UP

#1

Post by CaptED71 » Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:40 am

Hello to All Readers..

Looking for ideas to solve a long term problem... (to be exact Feb.2016)
A overseas friend and I build exactly the same computer system's ( It was my first time to build a Low Power Computer)
We were both getting away from Windows 7 trying to update to Win10 (I know you all remember)

We both choose to go with MX-15 and we both had the same issue and that was our builds were Freezing/Locking up..
We finally changed to a Kernel of 3.16.0-4-amd64 x86_64... and that solved the problem for both of us..All was good..
My Friend is still using MX-15 with the Kernel mentioned above...

Then I had a Harddrive failure ...installed a SSD but by this time MX-17 was the going Version..and it Froze up..
So I installed the latest in the last few weeks MX-18.3... and yes it freezes up also...

Now I am having to force shutdown and while most of the time it will reboot ... But sometimes I get a Corrupted SSD and Install a fresh version..

Now I am feed up enough to take out the memory and the drive and put it in the trash...(Which is my way of saying I am willing to try most things)
My Overseas friend wanted me to at-least ask the forum for help... So that is what I am doing....

If your response is to go back to Kernel 3.16.0-4 then would you please explain how to do this in MX-18..
Thanks in Advance..

Ed

Here is a copy of the system....

Code: Select all

System:    Host: asrock Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 6.3.0 
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 Distro: MX-18.3_x64 Continuum May 26  2019 
           base: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch) 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASRock model: Q1900DC-ITX serial: <filter> 
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: P1.70 date: 03/01/2018 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Celeron J1900 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Silvermont 
           rev: 8 L2 cache: 1024 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 15993 
           Speed: 1333 MHz min/max: 1333/2416 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1333 2: 1333 3: 1438 
           4: 1600 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display vendor: ASRock 
           driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Bay Trail v: 4.2 Mesa 18.2.6 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series High Definition Audio 
           vendor: ASRock driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
           Device-2: Plantronics type: USB driver: plantronics,snd-usb-audio,usbhid 
           bus ID: 1-2.2:5 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-5-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: ASRock 
           driver: r8169 v: kernel port: e000 bus ID: 03:00.0 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 111.79 GiB used: 5.81 GiB (5.2%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Kingston model: SV300S37A120G size: 111.79 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 107.29 GiB used: 5.81 GiB (5.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 2.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:     Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list 
           1: deb http://iso.mxrepo.com/antix/stretch stretch main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
           2: deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
           1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list 
           1: deb http://mirrors.rit.edu/mxlinux/mx-packages/mx/repo/ stretch main non-free
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list 
Info:      Processes: 179 Uptime: 24m Memory: 15.38 GiB used: 733.7 MiB (4.7%) Init: SysVinit 
           runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 6.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.12 inxi: 3.0.33 
Last edited by CaptED71 on Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:56 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
timkb4cq
Developer
Posts: 5145
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Computer Freezing/Locking UP

#2

Post by timkb4cq » Fri Aug 16, 2019 12:03 pm

There's a known issue with that motherboard & Linux having to do with the CPU c-states. Intel hasn't been helpful in troubleshooting it, but some users say this works.

In the BIOS ("Advanced\CPU Configuration") set:
- Intel SpeedStep Technology (ON)
- CPU C States Support (OFF)
- Enhanced Halt State (OFF)
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

CaptED71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:21 pm

Re: Computer Freezing/Locking UP

#3

Post by CaptED71 » Fri Aug 16, 2019 1:13 pm

Hello "timkb4cq"

Just been in the BIOs and made the changes...
It might take a day or two to make sure it is going to be okay or not....

Thank You for you fast reply...
Ed

CaptED71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:21 pm

Re: TESTING Computer Freezing/Locking UP

#4

Post by CaptED71 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:51 am

Hi to "timkb4cq"

I am starting day 2 since changing the BIOs settings..
So far I have not have a single Freeze or Lockup..
I did mark this as TESTING and if it last another 2 days without a issue I will mark it as SOLVED...

Thanks Again
Ed

CaptED71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:21 pm

Re: TESTING Computer Freezing/Locking UP

#5

Post by CaptED71 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:56 am

Hi to "timkb4cq" & All Readers...

My Computer Freezing/Locking has been fixed... I will Mark it as Solved..

Side Note: Due to the Freezing up and hard reset the SSD has turned out corrupted..
Now I did re-format and re-installed OS ....My the corruption continues which makes me think it is a Faulty SSD..

Post Reply

Return to “MX Help”