Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Do I need a "swap" or not?

Post Reply
balarm
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:15 pm

Do I need a "swap" or not?

#1

Post by balarm » Fri May 03, 2019 11:28 am

Hi guys, I have two laptops both equipped with 4 Gb of ram and one of them is a dual boot system with Win7.
Is it necessary to set a "swap" in one of them or both (considering that sometimes i use a virtualbox machine giving it 1,5 gb)?
I have read that during installation Mx set a "swap config file" .
Thanks.
mx1 Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: MX-17.1_x64 Horizon December 15, 2017
Machine: Device: laptop System: LENOVO product: 1951A47 v: ThinkPad T60

User avatar
srq2625
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Do I need a "swap" or not?

#2

Post by srq2625 » Fri May 03, 2019 12:07 pm

The answer is driven by the answers to questions similar to the followoing. If you answer yes to any of these, you might need swap. If not, then swap is probably not needed.
  1. Do you need to hibernate your laptop?
  2. Do you do intensive audio/video/graphics work that requires large amounts of memory?
But, with only 4GB, I believe the consensus will be, "Yes, a swap file/partition would probably be a good thing."
AsusTek PRIME B450-Plus
AMD Ryzen 7 2700 (8-Core, 16 threads)
GeForce GTS 450/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.116
Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 - driver: r8169
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
DDR4 3200MHz CL16 2x8GB

skidoo
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1448
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:56 pm

Re: Do I need a "swap" or not?

#3

Post by skidoo » Fri May 03, 2019 2:19 pm

two very enlightening topics in this forum recently discussed swap:

" swap partition, swapfile and swappinnes "

Disable or remove Swap

balarm
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: Do I need a "swap" or not?

#4

Post by balarm » Fri May 03, 2019 2:24 pm

Thanks for answering. O.K. i add the "swap"; can i use the dphys-swapfile package to add it?
mx1 Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: MX-17.1_x64 Horizon December 15, 2017
Machine: Device: laptop System: LENOVO product: 1951A47 v: ThinkPad T60

User avatar
figueroa
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 12:20 am

Re: Do I need a "swap" or not?

#5

Post by figueroa » Fri May 03, 2019 2:58 pm

If you didn't create a swap partition, or didn't already have one, when you installed MX, why not just wait and see? If you need one, you'll find out. There isn't a compelling reason to do something now.
Andy Figueroa
Using Unix from 1984; GNU/Linux from 1993

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: Do I need a "swap" or not?

#6

Post by Mauser » Fri May 03, 2019 3:03 pm

Yes you do need swap, because you can get freezes if you don't have any swap or any swap file regardless of how much RAM you have or what you have the swapness set to or what kind of storage you have.
I am command line illiterate. :confused:

balarm
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: Do I need a "swap" or not?

#7

Post by balarm » Fri May 03, 2019 3:32 pm

Thanks a lot everybody. I'll follow your suggestions.
mx1 Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: MX-17.1_x64 Horizon December 15, 2017
Machine: Device: laptop System: LENOVO product: 1951A47 v: ThinkPad T60

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”