Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

KDE shutdown [solved]

Help on MX KDE Re-spins
User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

KDE shutdown [solved]

#1

Post by Mauser » Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:40 pm

I am using KDE and when I click Leave none of the other selections in the application menu respond. I usually get a box with options but not anymore. Shut down, Restart, or anything else.
Last edited by Mauser on Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I am command line illiterate. :confused:

User avatar
chrispop99
Global Moderator
Posts: 3108
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: KDE shutdown

#2

Post by chrispop99 » Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:52 pm

Have a look at System Settings>Startup and Shutdown>Session Management, and see if there is a tick next to 'Offer Shutdown Options'.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: KDE shutdown

#3

Post by Mauser » Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:57 pm

chrispop99 wrote:Have a look at System Settings>Startup and Shutdown>Session Management, and see if there is a tick next to 'Offer Shutdown Options'.

Chris
Thanks. Too late. I had it with KDE. I did a force shutdown hitting the power button. When I booted up the shutdown would work but it messed up all the themeing. I am back on Xfce for good because KDE has been a headache for me. Thanks anyway.
I am command line illiterate. :confused:

User avatar
chrispop99
Global Moderator
Posts: 3108
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: KDE shutdown [solved]

#4

Post by chrispop99 » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:03 pm

KDE requires more time to learn how to set it up, that's for sure!

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
Stevo
Developer
Posts: 20151
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: KDE shutdown [solved]

#5

Post by Stevo » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:23 pm

Was this with the KDE respin, or did you add it yourself?

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: KDE shutdown [solved]

#6

Post by Mauser » Fri Jul 21, 2017 7:01 pm

chrispop99 wrote:KDE requires more time to learn how to set it up, that's for sure!

Chris
Yes, it does. It's a real pain to set up. Poor documentation as well.
I am command line illiterate. :confused:

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: KDE shutdown [solved]

#7

Post by Mauser » Fri Jul 21, 2017 7:07 pm

Stevo wrote:Was this with the KDE respin, or did you add it yourself?
No, it's the stock KDE that comes with MX that I was setting it up the way I want through the use of the KDE settings. I wouldn't call it a respin. With the very poor documentation that KDE has it's trail and error and sometimes it goes right off a cliff.
I am command line illiterate. :confused:

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19466
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: KDE shutdown [solved]

#8

Post by richb » Fri Jul 21, 2017 7:28 pm

I found it quite easy to configure. But I have a lot of experience with KDE. (had that is).
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Stevo
Developer
Posts: 20151
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: KDE shutdown [solved]

#9

Post by Stevo » Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:47 pm

Mauser wrote:
Stevo wrote:Was this with the KDE respin, or did you add it yourself?
No, it's the stock KDE that comes with MX that I was setting it up the way I want through the use of the KDE settings. I wouldn't call it a respin. With the very poor documentation that KDE has it's trail and error and sometimes it goes right off a cliff.
I'm still not clear what you mean. KDE doesn't officially come with MX--did you install it via the package installer, or use the unofficial KDE-added respin that I did?

User avatar
Mauser
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Re: KDE shutdown [solved]

#10

Post by Mauser » Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:07 am

richb wrote:I found it quite easy to configure. But I have a lot of experience with KDE. (had that is).
In some cases it's easy to configure but in other cases it's not. I would imagine the experience you have with KDE the easier it would be. The problem is when you don't have much experience with KDE it's easy to go over a cliff with it depending on what changes you are looking to make and how far you go off the beaten path with it. The poor documentation compounds that problem. I don't find that problem with Xfce as their documentation is clear and concise.
I am command line illiterate. :confused:

Post Reply

Return to “MX KDE”