Page 1 of 1

M12 audio in audacity but not in iceweasel

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:35 pm
by eemaestro
After reinstalling MEPIS12, am getting sound when I play an mp3 in audacity.
But no sound in iceweasel, from ted.com. The video plays normally but the sound
does not play at all. How can I fix this?
Audacity shows ALSA as the "audio host" if that helps.

Code: Select all

$aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: CA0106 [CA0106], device 0: ca0106 [CA0106]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: CA0106 [CA0106], device 1: ca0106 [CA0106]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: CA0106 [CA0106], device 2: ca0106 [CA0106]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: CA0106 [CA0106], device 3: ca0106 [CA0106]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Re: M12 audio in audacity but not in iceweasel

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:30 pm
by entropyfoe
See this thread
http://forum.mepiscommunity.org/viewtop ... 34#p286234

I had a similar problem, and I had to disable the HDMI sound in the BIOS.
I assume that you have a different sound card (Or on board sound) in your system.

-Jay

Re: M12 audio in audacity but not in iceweasel

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:40 pm
by eemaestro
I will take a look at your thread, Jay. Thank you for pointing it out to me. You're right that I am using a Soundblaster card, and not the motherboard sound. Dunno what HDMI is.

Re: M12 audio in audacity but not in iceweasel

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:10 pm
by entropyfoe
HDMI (does it stand for High Definition Media Interface?) is the connector you hook your video to the monitor with in some cases. Like on LCD TVs. Some monitors use HDMI to play sound in the monitor. I am guessing since you have a SB card, you have different speakers, so disabling HDMI sound will have no down side.

It contains all kind of content controls to keep people from pirating video, so it can mess us up when doing perfectly legal things.

It was buried deep in the BIOS tabs, I had to go to one "advanced" tab to find it.

-Jay

Re: M12 audio in audacity but not in iceweasel

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:19 am
by Stevo
The Flash plugin in the browser sends sound to the "default" sound card. Since aplay lists the HDMI output as the first card, it's being labeled default, and that's where the browser sound is going.

If you can't disable the HDMI output, it's fairly easy to switch the default card to the soundblaster (CARD 1).

Just create a hidden text file in your home folder named .asoundrc, paste this text in it:

Code: Select all

defaults.ctl.card 1
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.timer.card 1

save, and reboot.

Re: M12 audio in audacity but not in iceweasel

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:11 am
by eemaestro
Thanks so much for the tip, Stevo. Problem solved!

Re: M12 audio in audacity but not in iceweasel

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:20 am
by Stevo
Nice--I had to do the same thing on my laptop, so had the file handy.

Re: M12 audio in audacity but not in iceweasel

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:30 pm
by lucky9
High Definition Multimedia Interface. See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI