News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Why distro hopping is bad for you.

Sparky
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Why distro hopping is bad for you.

Post by Sparky » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:01 am

Even though I have been using Linux for at least 2 years now, I noticed that distro hopping has prevented me from 'mastering' any distro.
I really suggest that people doing that stop at the best distro they have found and learn it's interface and how it works. The change I have gone through after settling for MX-Linux have been amazing.
I'm not saying there's something terrible for people who distro hop, I'm just saying you'll become a Jack of all trades, but a master in none.
I have now 5 machines running MX (even at my office) and plan on deploying it to at least 3 more.
I found my home, and a distro that kicks ass!
I have no idea why I felt like sharing this, but I am anyway :p
MX Linux Asus F552, 12GB RAM, 1TB HDD

Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Re: Why distro hopping is bad for you.

Post by Eadwine Rose » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:57 am

I started out with mepis back in the day. Used every day and was happy. THEN I started distro hopping.. tried the livecds and .. went back to mepis because I didn't like the way the others did things.

So.. in my case it was a good thing: I knew what I had was good ;)
MX-18.3_x64 May 26 2019 * 4.19.0-5-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * 8-core AMD Ryzen 7 2700
Asus TUF B450-Plus Gaming UEFI * Asus GTX 1050 Ti Nvidia 390.116 * 2x16Gb DDR4 2666 Kingston HyperX Predator
Samsung 860EVO * Samsung S24D330 & P2250 * HP Envy5030

dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Post by dolphin_oracle » Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:34 am