News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Defining the jump from noob to Linux User

jj1j1
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Defining the jump from noob to Linux User

Post by jj1j1 » Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:43 pm

I've been using Linux for about three years off and on, and about a year exclusively for daily tasks, (email, using/surfing internet). I want to call myself a Linux user, but in many respects I feel I'm still a noob, and will be for some time. Although I use Linux on daily basis I'm waiting for that day I go from, noob, to Linux user. I know everyone uses Linux, or any OS for that matter, for different reasons. and after thinking about it, I wonder what others use or have used as a set of qualifiers to represent that jump. Is it successfully compiling a program from source files (This is what I've thought for some time.), or maybe learning, and successfully applying scripts?
True freedom is never asking the question; Am I free?

Eadwine Rose
Administrator

Re: Defining the jump from noob to Linux User

Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:54 pm

I am still trying to find the ramp to jump from..... :rofl:
MX-18.3_x64 May 26 2019 * 4.19.0-5-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * 8-core AMD Ryzen 7 2700
Asus TUF B450-Plus Gaming UEFI * Asus GTX 1050 Ti Nvidia 390.116 * 2x16Gb DDR4 2666 Kingston HyperX Predator
Samsung 860EVO * Samsung S24D330 & P2250 * HP Envy5030

rasat
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Post by rasat » Fri Jul 05, 2019 5:28 pm

jj1j1 wrote:
Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:43 pm
I've been using Linux for about three years off and on, and about a year exclusively for daily tasks, (email, using/surfing internet).