Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

Post Reply
User avatar
arjay
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:28 am

Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#1

Post by arjay » Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:44 am

Just trying 17.1 and really appreciate responsiveness in contrast to a kde install on another partition

Just one thing that niggles me - can't seem to find anything in desktop settings, or elsewhere for that matter, to get rid of the huge date and time display on the desktop (which also includes a cpu usage display). Want to get rid of the lot.

Can you help?

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4210
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#2

Post by fehlix » Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:47 am

In the menu : Conky Toggle, to turn it off/on
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
arjay
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:28 am

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#3

Post by arjay » Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:07 am

Excellent thank you. Didn't even know I had anything Conky-related that was enabled. Told you I was new to MX :happy:

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2877
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#4

Post by chrispop99 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:19 am

If you want to prevent it from starting at subsequent boots, use Conky Manager from the Whisker menu, click the 'gears' icon at the top-tight, and slide the Start-up toggle to Off.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11779
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#5

Post by dolphin_oracle » Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:38 am

chrispop99 wrote:
Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:19 am
If you want to prevent it from starting at subsequent boots, use Conky Manager from the Whisker menu, click the 'gears' icon at the top-tight, and slide the Start-up toggle to Off.

Chris
If the updates have been installed, the toggle also disables autostart.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-18
lenovo s21e - MX-18, antiX-17.3.1 (live-USB)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2877
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#6

Post by chrispop99 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:33 am

dolphin_oracle wrote:
Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:38 am
If the updates have been installed, the toggle also disables autostart.
I must have missed that change; it makes much more sense like that!

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
arjay
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:28 am

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#7

Post by arjay » Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:17 am

chrispop99 wrote:
Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:19 am
If you want to prevent it from starting at subsequent boots, use Conky Manager from the Whisker menu, click the 'gears' icon at the top-tight, and slide the Start-up toggle to Off.

Chris
Thanks for the tip. BTW, my Conky Manager is v2.4, running on MX 17.1. In my version, there does not appear to be a "Gears Icon" - it is just a drop down menu with an unlabelled arrow in it that brings up the Settings dialogue. Same result though.

Richard

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2877
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#8

Post by chrispop99 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:44 am

snapshot.png
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

Artisto
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 11:16 am

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#9

Post by Artisto » Tue May 28, 2019 9:59 pm

I'm having the opposite problem, i want the display so I went as directed to conky toggle and found what I wanted after previewing it and going through the list. But once I click ont he selection box to the left of the list nothing else happens and there appears to be no way to get it to display on my desktop. I don't know why it disappeared in the first place.
Help! :rolleyes:

Haswell I7 Intel cpu
GB z87XOC Mobo
760 Ripjaws Graphic 32GB

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19521
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Removing desktop time and cpu usage icon, widget, or whatever it is

#10

Post by Stevo » Tue May 28, 2019 10:01 pm

Please start another thread if your problem isn't the same one.

Post Reply

Return to “Desktop Environment”