Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

SoftMaker Free Office now available

User avatar
Jerry3904
Administrator
Posts: 25812
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

SoftMaker Free Office now available

#1

Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:59 am

A number of users have asked us to make this available, and we have now made it easy to install through MX Package Installer > Popular Applications, Office category. This version is free to use, and upgrades are available from SoftMaker for those wanting them. Details on the website:

https://www.softmaker.com/en/comparison ... ker-office

I've only taken a first quick glance but have seen enough that I want to explore it further for eventual office use.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
stevedude
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:19 pm

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#2

Post by stevedude » Wed Jul 17, 2019 8:49 am

This is my go-to Office software suite. I've used all of the Linux Office suites and I choose to use Softmaker's because I have a complicated formatted resume' done originally in Microsoft Office by a professional and Softmaker Free Office was the only Linux Suite to open it correctly with all of the formatting.

Thank you for incorporating this into MX Package Installer.
OS:MX-18_x64|Kernel:4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64|Xfce 4.12.3|Mobo:TUF X470-PLUS|CPU AMD Ryzen 5, 2600 MHz
Graphics:GeForce GTX 1060,driver:nvidia v:390.77|Audio:NVIDIA snd_hda_intel
Netwrk:Realtek RTL8111|Seagate:ST2000DM006, 1.82 TB|Mem:15.6 GB

User avatar
KBD
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1823
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#3

Post by KBD » Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:25 pm

Much thanks Jerry!
This is such a great Office Suite and it is nice not having to worry about file compatibility with Microsoft files in Linux.
Thanks again!

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19474
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#4

Post by richb » Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:34 pm

First issue I had, it ran out of memory loading my spreadsheet 637 Kb in size.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
KBD
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1823
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#5

Post by KBD » Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:43 pm

For some reason I'm not seeing it in the package installer :(

User avatar
Jerry3904
Administrator
Posts: 25812
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#6

Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:48 pm

Have you updated ? Try switching repos, it may not have come through yet.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
Stevo
Developer
Posts: 20158
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#7

Post by Stevo » Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:15 pm

Installed without any issues here using MXPI.

User avatar
KBD
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1823
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#8

Post by KBD » Wed Jul 17, 2019 11:17 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:48 pm
Have you updated ? Try switching repos, it may not have come through yet.
I got a few updates tonight, one was an update on the package installer, and then it showed up :)
Thanks again for doing this Jerry. I think a lot of folks will enjoy having it easily available.

User avatar
chrispop99
Global Moderator
Posts: 3108
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#9

Post by chrispop99 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:41 am

Does spell-check work for others? I can't make it work here. (UK).

I've used Tools>Options>Language to enable 'Use background spell-checking'.

The free version uses Hunspell dictionaries, and Synaptic shows the en_GB one as installed, but when I try to use the dialogue in Tools>Options>Language to install from
/usr/share/hunspell, it complains that it needs the dictionary file in .sox format, which is different from the standard Hunspell format.

Any ideas?

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
chrispop99
Global Moderator
Posts: 3108
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: SoftMaker Free Office now available

#10

Post by chrispop99 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:59 am

chrispop99 wrote:
Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:41 am
Does spell-check work for others? I can't make it work here. (UK).

I've used Tools>Options>Language to enable 'Use background spell-checking'.

The free version uses Hunspell dictionaries, and Synaptic shows the en_GB one as installed, but when I try to use the dialogue in Tools>Options>Language to install from
/usr/share/hunspell, it complains that it needs the dictionary file in .sox format, which is different from the standard Hunspell format.

Any ideas?

Chris
(Apologies for replying to own post.)

I found that in spite of frequent references to needing Hunspell dictionaries, you actually need to go to the Softmaker website and download a free one in their own .sox format, then install the dictionary into Free Office. This is a similar process that was needed in Libre Office some years ago.

This is a bit of a negative IMHO. At least I have it working now.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

Post Reply

Return to “General”