Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19560
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

#11

Post by Stevo » Thu Aug 17, 2017 8:38 pm

1. Enable our test repository in Synaptic's settings for repositories.
2. Reload in Synaptic.
3. Install cinnamon-core in Synaptic.

This works for me on the Live 16.1 session.

If it does not work for you, please close Synaptic, open a terminal, then run

Code: Select all

sudo apt install cinnamon-core
if this fails, copy and paste the output into a code box here.

User avatar
asinoro
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 494
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

#12

Post by asinoro » Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:52 am

I enable test repo, upgraded cinnamon-cor, cinnamon, etc, after log in to cinnamon again crushed. Mint 18.2 cinnamon works fine, in another partition !
If your case is solved edit [Solved] to your initial post title to help other users.
Don’t forget to Backup your system
Fix your Grub

User avatar
v3g4n
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1829
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 8:20 pm

Re: Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

#13

Post by v3g4n » Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:30 am

Don't you make me go and do this on an actual install now! :p Gotta be something you are doing? What it is I don't know. :confused:

User avatar
asinoro
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 494
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

#14

Post by asinoro » Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:45 am

This is how it is.
cinnamon-cor.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
If your case is solved edit [Solved] to your initial post title to help other users.
Don’t forget to Backup your system
Fix your Grub

User avatar
sivaraj
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:43 am

Re: Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

#15

Post by sivaraj » Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:47 am

asinoro wrote:
sivaraj wrote:I remember had problem with cinnamon install on a fresh mx16 install and cinnamon packages directly from test repository.
Instead first install cinnamon-core (2.2) from jessie repository and later update to mx-test repository

sudo apt-get install cinnamon-core
Then update from mx test repository
Mxtools>package installer>full app catalogue>Mx test repos
search for cinnamon
choose the update packages available to update including cinnamon-desktop-environment
This worked for me in the past
cinnamon-desktop-environment will replace MX Firefox with Firefox-esr and will install icedove, something I don't want.
For my case Firefox-esr is not a dependency for cinnamon installation.
Something wrong.
Instead try a fresh install of mx 16.1,update and then install Cinnamon

User avatar
asinoro
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 494
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

#16

Post by asinoro » Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:10 am

I install also cinnamon-desktop-environment, with the same not good result. It shows MX-15 but it is MX-16.1.

Code: Select all

System:    Kernel: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.9.2) Desktop: Xfce 4.12.2 (Gtk 2.24.25)
           Distro: MX-15_x64 Fusion 24 December 2015
Machine:   Device: laptop System: LENOVO product: 80G0 v: Lenovo G50-30
           Mobo: LENOVO model: Lancer 5A6 v: SDK0F82993WIN UEFI: LENOVO v: A7CN40WW date: 07/18/2014
Battery    BAT0: charge: 26.5 Wh 100.2% condition: 26.5/28.5 Wh (93%) model: Lenovo status: Full
CPU:       Dual core Intel Celeron N2840 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 8652
           clock speeds: max: 2582 MHz 1: 2582 MHz 2: 2582 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@59.97hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Bay Trail GLX Version: 3.3 Mesa 12.0.3 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 1000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-3: Atheros usb-ID: 001-020
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (36.4% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST500LT012 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 29G used: 14G (51%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda14
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.19GB used: 0.05GB (1%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda8
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 53.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 228 Uptime: 1 day Memory: 1131.6/1888.4MB Init: SysVinit runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 4.9.2
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.301) inxi: 2.3.21 
If your case is solved edit [Solved] to your initial post title to help other users.
Don’t forget to Backup your system
Fix your Grub

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19560
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

#17

Post by Stevo » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:43 pm

But you're running the MX 15 kernel, so that's good, right?----

Anyway, MX 16 builds upon the MX 15 base, so uses its packages, just like many of the packages are from Jessie.

The Net says you have a "Bay Trail" type processor, and the kernel developers say that they are still adding improvements for the support for those, even up to 4.11 https://liliputing.com/2017/03/linux-4- ... trail.html

So you might think about adding a newer kernel, without removing the old one, to see if you get better performance.

User avatar
asinoro
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 494
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Can't backport GNOME, but I tried a Cinnamon 3.2 backport

#18

Post by asinoro » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:58 pm

I give up, if I want Cinnamon I will go to Mint.

Code: Select all

ii  linux-image-3.16.0-4-amd64               3.16.43-2+deb8u2                           amd64        Linux 3.16 for 64-bit PCs
ii  linux-image-4.10.1-antix.1-amd64-smp     4.10.1-antix.1-amd64-smp-1                 amd64        Linux kernel, version 4.10.1-antix.1-amd64-smp
ii  linux-image-4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64          4.2.6-3~bpo8+5                             amd64        Linux 4.2 for 64-bit PCs
ii  linux-image-4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64-unsigned 4.7.8-1mx16+3                              amd64        Linux 4.7 for 64-bit PCs
ii  linux-image-4.8.0-2.1-liquorix-amd64     4.8-2mx150+2                               amd64        Linux 4.8 for 64-bit PCs
If your case is solved edit [Solved] to your initial post title to help other users.
Don’t forget to Backup your system
Fix your Grub

Post Reply

Return to “Package Requests/Status - MX-15/16”