Reviews

MX 16 | MX Linux 16 Review

Video review by Silicon Nubian, published January 8, 2017. A good tour with helpful commentary, very appreciative of MX Tools. Says perhaps not best for a brand new user, but is impressed: "two thumbs up, very good performance and very feature complete, I like it a lot."

MX 16 | MX-16 Linux Review (The Dremel Distro)

Video review by Linux Quest, published December 29, 2016. Detailed and informed examination of MX-16 that focuses on MX Tools, leading him to call it "the Dremel of Linux distributions." Praises the forethought and attention to detail throughout, concluding that it's as if the Devs said to themselves: "let's not just give directions, let's put it in place."

MX 16 | MX Linux: Una distro Veloz, amigable y con herramientas asombrosas

Blog post by lagarto, published December 28, 2016. Good overview of MX-16, looking at downloading, installation and use. Concludes: "If you want a Linux distribution that is pretty light but very functional I recommend you try MX-16. The performance is simply fantastic and visually it is pretty and efficient."

MX 16 | Top 5 Distros of 2016

Video review by Sudo Reboot, published December 18, 2016. Follow-up on his MX16 = peppermint 7 killer, published December 14, 2016. Using criteria of quick and ideal for new users, gives an enthusiastic and excited tour of MX-16 (starting about 20 mins in), spending a lot of time on MX Tools. He concludes that MX-16 is the best Debian distro "bar none" and his #1 choice for the year.

MX 16 | MX Linux 16 MATE

Video review by Linux and Other Stuff, published December 15, 2016. Does a nice quick overview of how to set up and run MATE on top of MX-16. "Looks real good, runs real good, and those icons are great. Pretty neat.." Follow-up on his earlier more general review: Is MX Linux 16 all that?:"It is all that they say it is!"

MX 16 | MX-16 "Metamorphosis" - Final Release Review

Video review by Don't Call Me Lenny, published December 13, 2016. Part of the group MX-16 Debian - 1st Release Candidate - Review, published November 28, 2016; MX-16 Linux Raises the Bar with Debian Nvidia Installs, published December 3; and My Top Linux Distros of 2016 - The Year in Review, published December 29, 2016. Looks first at the driver question, with which he had earlier had problems, and finds that the new NVidia installer is the easiest available. Reviews MX Tools in some detail, then concludes with: "MX-16 is at the top of the Debian list."

MX 16 | La MX-Linux 16 parviendra-t-elle à faire oublier la caricaturale Devuan GNU/Linux?

Blog article by Frederic Bezies, published November 3, 2016, reviewing MX-16 Beta 1. Text overview includes a 25 miin video of post-installation setup that is well done. Concludes with: "I must say that we are looking at a distribution that was thought out from beginning to end to be usable."

MX 15 | MX-15 Debian + KDE = Fantastic ! ! !

Video review by Don't Call Me Lenny, published August 20, 2016. A close look of the KDE remix of MX-15 created and maintained by Community developer Stevo. Praises the aesthetics, shows the various applications available by default, and ends by saying: "I'm sure this release will gain quite a following once people find out about it."

MX 15 | The Best of Linux - 2016 So Far.......

Video review by Don't Call Me Lenny, published May 9, 2016. Author takes a look at the Linux distros of 2016, and starting around 6'45" turns to MX-15. He highlights MX Tools, the automatic Broadcom pickup, the Save System to ISO--and the general perception that everything works perfectly. Concludes with this: "MX-15 in my opinion is the #1 Linux distribution, the benchmark for everyone else to shoot at...I can't say enough about MX-15, it is far and away the best Debian distribution."

MX 15 | The MX Toolbox: Big Tools for a Little Distro

Careful look at MX Tools by Dedoimedo in OCS-Mag on March 9, 2016. After going through the tools individually, making suggestions about functionality and appearance, he finishes with this: "I very much like MX Tools. They are a handy, refreshing addition to the distribution, and they allow users who are not very tech savvy to solve some common problems. True, fixing audio and network drivers is hardly the first thing you want to do when you log in, but then, codecs and shares are an absolute must. Overall, MX Tools work quite well. The GUI isn’t perfect though. It can be visually much nicer, the advanced tools need some rethinking and rework, and I’d like to see more features added, with aided step-by-step wizards that would help new users get comfortable with the distro, and quickly. Anyhow, I warmly recommend you try MX Linux, and then sample from its unique fruit. I believe you will find the experience pleasing, and perhaps we will see more endeavors of this kind crop across the distro phase-space."

Pages

Subscribe to Reviews